Birthday Invites

These invites were from last year, but with this amazing weather that we’re having (mid 50’s today) and mid 60’s tomorrow (take that you nasty groundhog!) Anyway, this warm weather got me thinking about sandals…and I thought I would show you what I did for 50 birthday part invites.  In the past years, when making the birthday invites, I’ve screwed them up (to put it nicely!).  Picked odd sizes, couldn’t find the right size envelopes (locally) etc.  So, this time I tackled this project with some pre-planning.  For all of my desire to have things exact and just right, invites/cards never make it that far.  I’m much more impromptu with my cards and such, making for a lot of rejects! 

Ok…so back to the invites.  We rent the community center pool for our oldest daughters birthday (for the last 3 years anyway).  So, I’m always looking for a water/beach/pool theme…and flip flops were last years theme.  I cut 102 pairs of shoes (one for the front, and one for the back) on my wishblade, along with 150 flowers.

invites002-crop

As you can see…they are meant to swing open so you can see where the party is.  When I did the first 3-4, I just put the ribbon in for the thingys that go between your toes…but after opening it a couple of times, I realized that they wouldn’t make it to the recipent in one piece.  So, I added an eyelet, and just didn’t completely set it in the back, allowing for the movement, and in the end, an easy solution to completing the card, rather than starting all over.

invites

Had I not been in a huge rush to finish the invites AND actually thought out the inside of the card, I would have adhered them to a piece of plain office paper, and ran it through the print to print directly on the lower pair of flipflops.  Again, the whole pre-planning of a card, not my strong suit.  Though, it’s through my screw ups that I will have making my invites easy and stressfree by the time my youngest is 35! 

invites003

Adding the bling was a requirement from Maggie.  She loves her sparkles.  She also loves having me make her invites…secertly, I love it too!  Everyone always raves about the invites and is amazed that I do that many.  So what if I miss out on about 3 nights of sleep? 

Hope these flip flops make you smile and think of summer!
Rae

P.S. If you have a blog with a Valentines day theme project (current or old), go to www.craftcritique.com and check out their Blog Carnival!  You have until the 12th to submit your link, and they will post the links on the 13th!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

