An old technique

but new colors!  I’ve had embossing paste for a couple of years (maybe 3-4).  HAD to have it.  Then it sat with the rest of the stuff, because well, I didn’t have everything that I needed!  LOL!  Have you ever used embossing paste?  It has a great effect on the cards, but wow, it can be a pain. 

Embossing paste is used with a stencil.  I’ve only seen it with the brass stencils, but I’m sure that it would work with other stencils.  You smear it on like frosting…take off the excess, and you have a raised stencil of whatever image you’re using.  I happen to use it with a coordinating stamp that I have, but I’ve also seen it with chalks etc.

picture-101-crop

I also added some glitter to it while it was still wet.  Depending on the amount of paste that you use will depend on the drying time.  It’s a substantial amount of time though (the amount that I used takes about 2-3 hours to completely dry).  And, the cleanup is a pain in the rear!  You have to really scub that stuff off the stencil. 

picture-104

Think of the possibilities with the embossing paste?  Besides the fact that it comes in numerous colors (I have translucent and white)…You could do a reverse emboss, spreading a sheet of it, and putting a stamp INTO it.  Just using it for a raised embossing.  You can put chalk under it.  Beads and glitter.  Stickles.  The list is endless.  So, for all of the pain that it can be, it’s worth it!

Rae

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

