Christmas cards from the past

I happened across these in my decluttering of the girls craft/scrapbooking area.  I give them all of my cast offs, to use the card stock, to play with, whatever they decide to do with them.  They are fun to look at and see what I’ve changed since.  Without further ado, here they are:

This was Christmas 2005.  Oh the problems I had with this card were NUMEROUS!  The intention for the silver overlay was to put silver embossing powder on it and really make it stand out.  Doesn’t work so well on velum.  So, I had to improvise, thus the above results here.  Then, the sentiment…oh, that one sure does get me!  I stamped it and then cut it…again, didn’t work out so well, and really, it sucks stamping a sentiment over and over again.  You get off kilter as you go.  I have issues taking straight pictures, let alone stamping straight!  I attached the girls picture underneath.  Now, I see the possibilities of what I could have done differently. 

Christmas of 2008.  Oh what a mess this one was!  I used my wishblade to cut those circles.  I lifted this off of a card that I had seen…but my thought was, I’ll use the wishblade to make the snowflakes.  After hours, literally hours, of trying to get the snowflakes to cut small enough to fit on those ‘ornaments’ I knew that I had to come up with something else.  This is what I came up with.  The embossing was horrendous, as all of the circles were already cut.  Those of you that did receive this card last year, I HOPE that I sent you one that was WAY cleaner than this one!  Ohh…and I had the entire set of 65+ cards last year assembled before I realized, I don’t have anything for the inside, minus the girls picture!  So I hand wrote our names, thus forcing me to have a plan for this year (puts you in the mind-set of punishment writing that teachers used to give us…reinforces the lesson!  Some merit to that apparently!)

This was my very first christmas card.  I had to save the best for last:)  December 2004, and my lovely, wonderful, ever-so-helpful friend Cyndi convinces me that I should make my own Christmas cards.  It will be SOOOO much fun, she says.  I believe her.  That year, I sent out 82 cards.  Do you want to know why I remember that?  Because that time is permanently etched into my brain as I sat at my kitchen table, until 4am trying to finish these up.  Embossing powder everywhere, trying to hear the newborn that was upstairs and didn’t like to sleep, trying to stay awake.  Oh, it was a lovely moment in time, let me tell you. 

However, this first card, with all of its mistakes and flaws (one MAJOR flaw was that I had to cut 2″ off each photo to get it to fit IN the card…what a HUGE pain that was!) was what set off the card making tradition.  I do enjoy it…after they are done:)

I hope you enjoyed the trip down memory lane with me.

Rae

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Christmas cards from the past”

  1. Cyndi Says:

    I still think our first cards were some of the best! =)

Leave a Reply

