Ribbon Hoarders Anonymous Anyone???–Edited

Hi, my name is Renee, and I love ribbon.  It’s beautiful, can used for numerous different projects, and can make a scrapbook page go from “Oh, that’s nice” to “WOW!”  I like “WOW!” a lot.  I’m not sure that I’ve posted many projects without ribbon…partly because I took 7+months off, and partly, because I like to use it A LOT!  So, what do you do when your ribbon storage consists of this:

and this:

Seriously people…this is out of control.  It is a great idea if you don’t actually use the ribbon, because then it doesn’t unwind on you, and create this mess of beautiful ribbon.  So, I went and bought myself one of these:

These aren’t cheap.  I think, with my michael’s coupon, it was about $15-20 ish?  You might be asking yourself, how does she not know what she paid for this.  That’s because I bought it two YEARS ago!  See the dust on it?  I put two rolls of ribbon it in, and it was SUCH a hassle, that I stuck it on top of my shelf, and only pulled it down for you to see that I did have good intentions.  Now, it will go back on the shelf until I can find a home for it (preferably someone else’s home) or Maggie decides she wants that too!  So, I’ve tossed around a million different ideas…none of them were appealing to me.  Than I saw THIS and I was in love.  I knew that I had to do it.  So, from the above mess, I now have this.  It is a work in progress…but the actual concept is lovely, and I just wanted to share, as I know that I can’t possibly be the ONLY one to have this problem…right?  (Please, I need confirmation that I am *NOT* the only one with this issue!)

On top of that mess that you saw above, I just got another 25+ spools of ribbon for Christmas…along with a dozen bags of buttons, with anywhere from 50-150 in each package…but for the price and quality, you can beat them!

Edited to add:  Those are old fashion clothes pins.  I was able to find them at hobby lobby, but I’ve heard you can find them at the dollar store.  You put the ribbon in the ‘middle’ of the clothes pin (that part that you would put over the clothes line, if you were to hang clothes with it).  Then you proceed to wrap and wrap and wrap:)  Once your spool is on the clothes pin, I used pins that have the ball on the head of them (I’m sure that there is a proper name for them), but push it through the ribbon, and I try to aim for that seperation in the clothes pin, otherwise the pin sticks out and I’m afraid that it would get caught on something, though I have no basis for that fear.  It is time consuming, but that’s because I have a LOT of ribbon.  Something that is easy to do while watching tv though.  For me, personally, I can only do about 10-15 a night, and then my hand starts cramping up a bit.  The jars are canisters, I believe.  I found them at Wal-mart for about $7 a piece…so slightly more than the ribbon storage that I bought, however, much prettier AND they will hold way more than the thing that I bought! 

Rae

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Ribbon Hoarders Anonymous Anyone???–Edited”

  1. Cyndi Says:

    I love the ribbon spools, cute! What are they? care to share? does it take long? are they easy to find?

    I think that’s the same ribbon container you gave me.. it’s still sitting on a shelf too.. cuz I never got around to being that organized with ribbon either. =)

Leave a Reply

